Start something

Every journey begins with a step. I heard that line today while watching TV and it set some wheels in motion.

Studying, writing, cleaning or doing anything of importance seems like the most daunting task to me before it begins. Once I get started, however, it gets easier because seeing the progress keeps me motivated. I know some people, on the other hand, find it easier to start a task but find it harder to keep the motivation going in order to finish it. Regardless of which type of person you are, it’s important to know what works for you. First, you have to get to know your habits and analyze them and then you can use the productive habits to your advantage and work on improving the ones that hold you back.

Sounds simple, right? But in the moment between realizing you have to complete your least favourite task at hand and strategizing on how to tackle it, you might experience a few (or more) dreadful moments. During those moments, it’s important to keep a healthy mental dialogue going in your head.

So, I told myself to let go of the dread to get started with the first step in accomplishing my task and told myself to only do whatever I could, because something is better than nothing . If you at least get started on your task, you just have to continue your work the next day, instead of starting from scratch. The moment you start something new can be just as important a moment as any.

What was your important moment of today?

2 thoughts on “Start something

Leave a Reply

